2021 World Postal Results – The Andy Goddard Memorial

By Al Myers, IAWA President


Another great year for the IAWA World Postal Championships!!

This year we had 42 lifters compete from the United States, Australia, England, and Canada. This World Postal Championships is one of three (with the World Championships and the Gold Cup being the other two) promoted by IAWA.   I want to REALLY thank all those that participated. Your participation is what makes this a great event!  As per the tradition the past few years, the lifts of the first day Worlds were contested.  I’ve included all class winners and best lifters, individual overall rankings for men and women, 3 person team rankings, and club rankings.

I want to give special mention to the overall winners in each category.  The Overall Best Men’s Lifter was JEFF CIAVATTONE, and the Overall Best Women’s Lifter was BEATA BANAS.  The Overall Best 3-person Team went to FRANK’S BARBELL CLUB (Jeff Ciavattone, Frank Ciavattone, and Wade Marchand).  The Overall Best Club went also to FRANK’S BARBELL CLUB.   The Overall Best Association went to the USAWA, with the IAWAUK in second, and the ARWF in third.

It’s always exciting to see new clubs participate.  This year CLARK’S CHAMPIONSHIP joined in and 3 lifters from their club (Nick Frieders, Tony Hose, and Dave DeForest) competed in their first World Postal.

There were several Junior Lifters competing this year with the youngest, Everett Todd, at eight years of age. The oldest lifter in the completion was Denny Habecker at 78 years of age. I also want to mention 3 lifters who competed as Exhibition Lifters (because of lack of an official to judge their lifts) just to show support to IAWA and the memory of Andy Goddard.  These lifters were Gary Ell, Jason Farrugia, and Sylvia Stockall of Canada.

If anyone notices any errors in these results please let me know as soon as possible so I can get things corrected.  Sometimes I have difficulties reading the handwriting on the official scoresheets.

Again, I want to thank everyone for entering this meet and making it an outstanding annual event in IAWA.

Click here to see the full results